Camping, skiing and a lot of internship progress - Reisverslag uit Whistler, Canada van Miriam Maan - WaarBenJij.nu Camping, skiing and a lot of internship progress - Reisverslag uit Whistler, Canada van Miriam Maan - WaarBenJij.nu

Camping, skiing and a lot of internship progress

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Miriam

24 April 2015 | Canada, Whistler

Hey there,


I don’t even remember the last time I wrote an update, I remember having the intention to write update many times, but that intention was never put to actions.

So, now the disadvantage of delaying your story telling; you forget. I am gonna try to sum up all the stuff I did, but the order might be non chronological and might lack a lof of fun and less fun events.
After the weekend in Seatle, we hired a car and did another road trip. We went via the 99 all the way north to Lilooet, on the way we saw some amazing lakes, mountains and waterfalls. At one waterfall you could stand really close to the point where the water fell down, which was quite scary cause the water fell down for about 30m. Lilooet was a really tiny town with 2 streets, trying to find a restaurant was easy, but due to a lack of competition, the quality of the food sucked. When ordering a pizza, we literally got a chunk of cheese on a tin slice of dew. Yummie. We had a fun night in the hotel.
The next day, after a typical “Canadian” breakfast with sausage, hash browns and egg, we went on the way to our next sleep stop. The nature changed dramatically; from a rainforest to a dry dessert, with dirty rivers and cold wind. We mainly enjoyed ourselves with car talk and being amazed about the environment. In Princeton we slept in a motel, which was hylaric. We could not plug in more then 2 electrical devices, which was a challenge for cooking, charging and cleaning. Luckily playing beer pong in the dark was still a lot of fun.
The last day we made the drive back to Vancouver, we were surprised by a lot of snow on the mountains, which made the drive a bit longer then first intended.

The week after, I started testing my first participants, after discovering a small mistake in the code, everything went perfect and I was able to test 35 people in two weeks! I was really happy doing that, cause participant testing is a pain in the ass and limits you from doing all the interesting cool scientific stuff (like programming and analysing (oh I am such a nerd)). During the week, we went to the cinema, eat a lot of burgers and cooked together.
After these busy weeks, I of course needed another holiday. AMS organized a camping trip to Sesamat lake. Together with 40 other people, we went on a big yellow schoolbus to the lake. We slept in yurts, which are a kind of tipis, filled with beds. We did some games to introduce ourselves and enjoyed beer from the kayak bar. The next day was filled with lots of fun activities, we did archery, canoeing, kayaking, jumped out of trees and had fun walking high staires. In the evening, we eat marshmallows with chocolate and cooking and enjoyed some nice beers.

We had the intention to get up and look at the sunset form the mountain but when our alarm rung, the rain was too heavy. We did a small hike around the lake with the group, which was more a challenge to not get too wet, then a real hiking experience.
The week after I was still testing a lot of participants, and I worked on the R script to analyze the data.

We had a long Easter Weekend, and i went together with Izzy, Florian and WJ to Washington state. We drove the North Cascadian Highway, which is a beautiful highway along astonishing mountain ranges, glaciers and lakes. At some point, the snow which they cleared out of the way for us was about 2m high. We slept in cabins on campsites, which was great because we could enjoy the fun of camping (eating outside with a one pit gastank) but still have the comfort from sleeping on a “real” bed. We made a campfire and enjoyed sausages on a stick.
The next day we drove back West to Wallace Falls State Park and saw some hills covered with yellow flowers, dessert like nature and waterfalls. In the NP we did a hike next to the river and enjoyed a nice pasta. We made smores, counted stars and enjoyed some nice beers.
The next day, we were all a bit tired, and after a morning hike, went back home passing a KFC (where I never went before).

The week after I went together with Eva, Millie and Martina to Whistler. We left really early in the morning with a shared ride to the mountains. In Whistler, I hired skis (first time ever), it was such a funny feeling to walk with the shoes on the ground, I felt like an alien! Haha, we went up with the gondala (firs time ever) up to Whistler mountain. There, I tried skiing for the first time! OMG! That was so much fun! Millie tought me some basics and after struggling a lot with speed, pizzapointing and fries (some people will understand this:P), I went from going down in one hour to only 15 minutes and being actually able to control my own speed and direction! So much fun! We met Martina in the village and went to the yurts. The yurt was really cute and we had a small dinner and drinking picnic. Shannon the cab driver took us “downtown” and we found a club where we danced the whole night. The next day I woke up completely sore from all the skiing and dancing and I felt pain in muscles I ve never felt before. I went for a hike to Lost Lake and Green Lake and had a really relaxing afternoon. In the evening we had some really nice food in the village and enjoyed a nice walk home. The next day we went for coffee and took a rideshare back home.

On Thursday I discovered a mistake in the code I wrote to collect all the Matlab. I cried really hard, cause this would basically have ment that I had to start with all the data collection again, which would delay me for at least a month. After telling my prof, I sat down again with Grayden and somehow we figured a way around it, such that I still had the data. I was so happy!! The beer we had with the lab tasted soo nice!
Last weekend, the weather was amazing, I went for a hike with Anneke and Tonje, and went to Queen Elisabeth park on Sunday for a picknick. It really felt like summer!

On Monday it was 420 and together with my housemates, we went to the 420 festival downtown, what a crazy event was this! On Thursday I had an important presentation about all the analyses I did on my data so far, I was kinda stressed about it cause I have so much data, but everything went well!

Now its almost weekend, the last weekend before almost all international student will leave Vancouver for travels or obligations at home!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Miriam

Actief sinds 30 Dec. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 181
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3407

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2014 - 16 September 2015

Internship Vancouver

Landen bezocht: